1 2 3
Lof8
Lof8 Dork
3/6/15 6:12 p.m.

I'm tired of posting pictures all over the web. I've decided to consolidate my adventures in one place, and GRM is the spot for that. First I'll give an intro to the toys and then I'll update as cool E36 M3 happens. The most senior project in the stable is an '87 e30 BMW. I started a build thread for it a while ago, but haven't really kept up. I've owned it for about 8 years and its pretty setup for track duty. S50 engine swap, Ground-Control suspension, big brakes, and some other stuff. Its mostly relegated to the track and occasional auto-x E30 build story

I've been doing DEs with the Porsche club with it for a few years and last year became an instructor with PCA. Car #2 is a Miata. Initially I picked up a '92 for a super deal. It was a super sturdy beater that handled 2 years of rally-x and $2k challenges with barely a hiccup. A clutch slave cylinder was the only casualty in those 2 years! I may have been the top-finishing autocrosser in the $2014 challenge without using a pro driver. I'm not sure - I'd like to see that stat. Rallycross Vid Miata Story I recently found another killer deal on a Miata, this one is a 1.8. So I did some shuffling and ended up making a few hundred bucks on the swap I had been planning to attend the "Bay Bottom Crawl" auto-x down on Sugarloaf Key for several months and this miata swap happened about a week prior to the event. I was scrambling to get the car ready and was actually bolting in the roll-bar (required for the event) the morning of. It was a really bad-ass event. Speeds about 80 mph on an old, bumpy surface with mangroves and saltwater to both sides! Its on an old residential loop that never got developed - about 2.5 miles long. Crawl Video The FTD was taken by a Formula Ford with a turbo. The red Miata will pick up where the black one left off with auto-x, rally-x and Challenge duties.

Lof8
Lof8 Dork
3/6/15 6:27 p.m.