1 2
dextervw
dextervw New Reader
8/24/17 1:59 p.m.

I'm building this car for me. It will change direction as often as I change my underwear. I can go from picky to NFG in the sip of a good bourbon, I'm an engineer and some times hitting with a hammer is just the best option. My MIG skills are right up there with my bubblegum chewing (or is that vise versa?)

I was initially told about this "super clean" GTI back in 2002 by my friend Brian. It took me till 2003 to actually go and see the car and knock on the door. To my surprise, he was looking to give the car away, to whomever wanted to pay him 1/3 of the cost of the NIB parts he had spare for it... about 800 dollars later and I had a super clean MK1 GTI and three GTI loads of spare parts. The poor girl had been sitting for 10 years and needed a lot of cleaning and resuscitation. Which being in college I was able to do pretty smartly.
6 months later and the constant fixing while trying to commute 75 miles a day to Boston was wearing on me and my boss and I made the tough decision to sell it to a good vw friend. He fixed the large issue of the time (exhaust manifold had pulled all of the studs out of the head) and then was diagnosed with cancer, had some crazy surgeries, went into remission and life took on a whole new meaning, as it should have! But my GTI sat for another 13 years… I was able to buy her back and drug her home about a year ago…

This is where I will document the rebuild/retromod of this fun little car... I can't wait to get really stuck into her and made her the MK1 I've always wanted!

oh and my other car for anyone curious

xflowgolf
xflowgolf Dork
8/24/17 2:02 p.m.

build build build!

mk1 VW fan. will be watching.

mazdeuce
mazdeuce MegaDork
8/24/17 2:04 p.m.

You're one of those fun guys who does fun things with fun cars. Feel free to derail the thread with many many pictures and stories of the rally car.
Glad to have you here.

Double_Wishbone
Double_Wishbone Reader
8/24/17 3:31 p.m.