1 2 3
TrulySpooky
TrulySpooky
2/18/17 1:52 a.m.

So I have had my 74 beetle for three years. I love it, however, it is stock and like all beetles does not handle very well. While I do love it, I think I'm ready for a change.

I would like something a little peppier, and that I can take to the track and not spin out. (took the beetle to the track one day, everyone thought I was nuts). I am a college student and allas, not a billionaire. So I would like to stay under 10k on whatever car I buy. I have been considering a Porsche 914 as It uses a familiar engine and can take a corner better.

I was wondering what other options are there? I'm aware that there are v8 muscle options available, that can be made to do well on the track, however, i would like to keep it a little more economical fuel and insurance wise.

Thanks for reading.

NordicSaab
NordicSaab HalfDork
2/18/17 6:19 a.m.

So... great handling... non V8... easy to work on car.

This puts you dead pin in Miata territory.

Other reasonable options: TR6, S2000

BillBall
BillBall New Reader
2/18/17 6:23 a.m.

Porsche 944 or 924S. Much more practical and less likely to spin than a 914. Plus you get AC, and in late models an (old) air bag and ABS. Good rust resistance, great handling and brakes. Although the engine is in front, the rear mounted transmission/diff & torsion bar suspension will give you that VW feel, trust me. Just make sure the timing belt/etc service is reasonably up to date. Definitely available for under 10k if you are not looking for a show car. But I have to say that if you plan to use it as a daily driver also the most recent Miata you can afford will probably give you less headache and still be fun.

AngryCorvair
AngryCorvair UltimaDork
2/18/17 6:27 a.m.

Second-gen Corvair (1965-1969)

bastomatic
bastomatic UltraDork
2/18/17 6:46 a.m.

Aren't 914s getting expensive?