Askar
Askar New Reader
11/25/15 6:32 a.m.

Hello everybody, I'm new to the grassroots motorsport forum so at first I want to introduce myself.

My name is Alex and I'm a mechanical engineer as well as a welding engineer. I'm 31 years old. I grew up and live in southern Germany. My father, a mechanic to the core, restored several Italian motorcycles from the 60s and 70s as well as a Lotus Europa Twin Cam and a Porsche 3,2 Carrera. At the age of 15 I followed him and restored a Moto Morini 125 ccm Sport-motorcycle from 1961. I had a lot of different cars and projects during the last few years but kept only 3 of them.

One Volkswagen Polo 86C 1300 Coupe. Modified for Touring car racing. I use that car since last year for the "Deutsche Amateur Rundstreckenmeisterschaft". It is a really cheap car with just a few improvements for track use. The 1300ccm Engine delivers about 90 HP to the frontweels at 710 kilos.

One Fiat 600 T Bus. I welded the whole rotten body of that project during last year and plan the assemble the car in 2016. The Fiat is anything else than a fast car either in standard or in modified form. The original Power output is 26 HP. I plan to build in a small electric motor to use the car as a daily driver for short trips around my hometown

One Lotus Europa S2. That car will be the successor of the Volkswagen Polo and is planned as a track car.

Greetings from Germany!

Alex

MrJoshua
MrJoshua UltimaDork
11/25/15 6:35 a.m.

Welcome!

wbjones
wbjones MegaDork
11/25/15 7:15 a.m.

welcome to the asylum

you might want to peruse this link … it explains a lot about us, that isn't readily understandable without a primer

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grassroots_Motorsports

RossD
RossD UltimaDork
11/25/15 7:50 a.m.

Welcome! I'm not sure if we have any GRM faithful in Germany still.

It's a good idea to read the wiki page as it will let you know the lingo and the curse words. It'll be way less confusing when you read "Holy E36 M3!"

Askar
Askar New Reader