Dusterbd13
Dusterbd13 UltimaDork
10/25/17 6:08 p.m.

So, it was decided tonight that i apparently don't have enough to do.

Si, I'll be helping brother dustin build a drivabeater 280z. 78 i think.

Since i know jack squat about these cars, other than they are sexy enough with a widebody kit to make me think things that are illegal in 39 states, i have questions. 

Can we get new gas tanks?

What about sheet metal? Could really use a drivers side inner fender due to accident damage.

Budget handling tweaks? Plan is a5.0 5 speed and challenge budget.

GTXVette
GTXVette Dork
10/25/17 7:10 p.m.

Insert picture of Monkey with Mouth Covered,     How Fast, Really Fast.

Pattyo
Pattyo Reader
10/26/17 8:29 p.m.

I have built a few S30s, but im no expert.  hybridz has tons of info on non traditional z car builds.  As far as tanks go, I have not seen any aftermarket tanks offered yet.  I think it is because unlike the rest of the car, the tank design changed every two years or so.  You will need to make sure you find the right tank for your car.  Im not sure if was an option or a model change, but some s30s came with a space saver spare.  that made the gas tank shap differ from s30s with a full size spare.  Also, the tank straps are not interchangeable so make sure you grab those too.

im sure you know of the 4x4 toyota brake upgrade. the rears are harder because the bracket that you need from a maxima is NLA and rarer than hens teeth at the junkyards.  a few aftermarket companies make them but they are not challenge price friendly.  I have found cheap floor pans on Ebay but not much else.  

Seat swaps are tough because of the transmission hump.  

If you havent found out yet, bolts brake very easily so soak those bastards and do the ol back and forth trick.  sometimes it is easier to just brake them and pull the threads out through the other side with pliers.