1 2
John Welsh
John Welsh MegaDork
10/16/17 7:01 a.m.

Which Pro Drivers will be attending $2017?

Patrick
Patrick MegaDork
10/16/17 7:11 a.m.

I hear one may be looking forward to driving a certain car.  I gather it's not right to spill the beans though.  

Danny Shields
Danny Shields Reader
10/16/17 7:36 a.m.

Count me in!

For those unfamiliar with this aspect of the event:  Since it is primarily a car building competition, more than a driving event, entrants can use a "Pro Driver" to drive their car/truck on the autocross course and try to get them the best score possible.  The organizers even make a few top level autocross "Pro Drivers" available.  In the autocross scoring, the officials do not even keep track of who is driving the car.

As for me, I have been a Challenge Pro Driver since the inaugural event, where I won Fast Time of Day at the autocross for Tim Suddard, driving Tim's SVO. (I know that sounds fishy, but it was mostly due to luck with the weather, not any special publisher's privilege!)  For variety of experience, I have won SCCA Nationals trophies in VWs, Mazda MX6s, Neons, a Mustang, Corvette, Porsche, MG, and MR2.  I have raced dirt track stock cars and SCCA sports cars. I like adapting quickly to different types of cars.  I have won the Challenge autocross for a few car owners over the years, and helped a lot of folks get better autocross scores, even if their car wasn't really contending for overall honors in the autocross.  

I have never wrecked or blown up anyone's Challenge car, but I still feel bad about returning the Johnny Quest van last year running poorly.

Danny

Robbie
Robbie PowerDork
10/16/17 9:36 a.m.

In reply to Danny Shields :

Re: Johnny quest van: I think you did it more good than harm. It could have stranded John in the middle of Tennessee on Sunday afternoon.

John Welsh
John Welsh MegaDork
10/16/17 10:24 a.m.