obrut
obrut New Reader
8/26/17 8:19 a.m.

I have a 84 vw rabbit 1.8L 8v running a single DCOE 45 with a long tube header, 8.5.1 compression pistons, GTI head and factory G cam. I have the vacuum advance removed and the base timing set at 12 degrees with a total timing of 22 at 4000 rpm. I'm trying to figure out how to get more timing in earlier, still searching this.

The weber has these jets,

175 air corrector F16 emulsion tube 140 main jet

40 pump jet

45 F9 idle jet

The car starts right up, idles great and seems to run fine up until 2400 rpms then it leans out and stumbles. When I bought the car the PO had a 180 air corrector in where the main jet should be. So I tried putting that back in and it ran a lot better but this isn't right.

Then I hooked up a cable to the starting feature (choke). I went for a drive and at 2500-3000 RPM I would floor it and pull the cable and it ran great.

I'm new to weber tuning but if I understand whats happening the starting feature is dumping fuel in which means I need to run a larger 180 - 200 main jet which is completely opposite of everything I've read for a 1.8L

I'm running the carter low pressure pump, no regulator and the fuel line connects to a T on the carb and the other side has the return line back to the tank. Not sure if this is right or not.

I checked the float level with a caliper in the main jet opening flush with the top of where the emulsion tube screws in and its about 25mm.

I don't know what size chokes are in the carb, I think I need to remove it to see.

I did put a AF ratio gauge on it and it is leaning out without the starting feature dumping fuel in.

Any suggestions? Just put some 195 or 200 main jets in it and tune of the AF guage?

02Pilot
02Pilot Dork
8/26/17 9:08 a.m.