Jerry
Jerry Dork
1/27/14 5:41 p.m.

Seems like someone needs some AW11 in their life, Chump car?

CL ad Cincinnati

"1985 Toyota MR2 was originally purchased as a project car. The engine that is in the car has a knocking rod, included is a used engine with 70K miles. Unfortunately the car is not drivable as the fuel pump gave out and I didn't have the proper tools to replace it. The 5-speed manual transmission and clutch have 15K miles on them. The interior is in excellent condition. I have just about every possible part needed to complete the car rebuild."

$500

Jerry
Jerry Dork
1/28/14 8:16 a.m.

(Workday morning bump)

ultraclyde
ultraclyde SuperDork
1/28/14 8:22 a.m.

wow. Lotsa potential. How do you buy a project car and not have the tools to change a fuel pump, or be willing to buy the tools? Is there some unicorn MR2-fuel-pump-tool of which I am unaware?

Jerry
Jerry Dork
1/28/14 3:37 p.m.

He was going to swap an engine, but couldn't do the fuel pump? I'm no mechanic but that sounds infinitely simpler to do.

Ashyukun
Ashyukun HalfDork
1/30/14 1:22 p.m.

IIRC on the Fiero, you had to drop the fuel tank to get to the pump so it's possible that's the case here too, but that still should be easier than an engine swap.

So, for those who know these cars better- does the rust/damage on the driver's side back look outrageous to fix? I'd love one of these to play with in general and as a potential Challenge car, and this is close enough and cheap enough it might be worth the effort to drag it back home and store it for a little while if it isn't too terribly rusted out.

Cotton
Cotton SuperDork
1/30/14 1:54 p.m.
ultraclyde wrote: wow. Lotsa potential. How do you buy a project car and not have the tools to change a fuel pump, or be willing to buy the tools? Is there some unicorn MR2-fuel-pump-tool of which I am unaware?