1 2
NBraun
NBraun Reader
8/27/21 10:23 p.m.

This build will be nothing crazy or groundbreaking, but I figured I could get some good advice if I posted it up.

My buddy and I have been talking for a few years now about building a car for the challenge but it never really leads anywhere. We were once again not going to do it this year, but we decided last minute to try and make it for 2021, though i'm not entirely convinced it will happen. 

Anyhow, I bought this 1996 ranger from a coworker for a cheap truck to run around in and get good mileage. He was the second owner since 75,000 miles, and it currently has 305,000 on it, on the original 4 cylinder. It's actually quite a fun truck to drive, but it desperately needs some more power. I wanted a cheap truck to have fun with, and we needed challenge vehicle, so here we are.

The Ranger

and the lovely engine donor

This is an 88 Grand Marquis that was being turned into an enduro racer. It was listed for $700 but I was able to pick it up for $350. It has a good running 5.0/AOD, though I hope to find a manual trans at the junkyard. I feel pretty confident in the engine swap side of things, its the suspension setup i'm concerned about. Well need to figure out shocks and springs that are stiff enough. I believe F150 springs are a good replacement, and they're stiffer. An explorer rear sway bar should bolt in, though a rear axle would be even better.

I'm mostly going to use this as a place to write out my thoughts, and hopefully get some help along the way.

Stampie
Stampie MegaDork
8/28/21 3:39 p.m.

That's ambitious.  A V8 swap and manual swap in two months would kill me but I'm old.  Interested as I once considered a V8 Ranger for the Challenge even going as far as buying a $250 Ranger.

NBraun
NBraun Reader
8/28/21 4:18 p.m.

Yeah, I definitely don't disagree that it's ambitious, but deadlines are good to have.