Robbie
Robbie UltimaDork
9/30/19 12:35 p.m.

Since I'm a newb to both drag racing and nitrous - who has a recommendation for a fire jacket?

I think it's required in nhra rules with nitrous. I also think it might be a good idea anyway.

Patrick
Patrick MegaDork
9/30/19 1:02 p.m.

Summit racing one was personal budget friendly and fits well based on t shirt size

Also yes, and my local track won’t tech you without the jacket 

just checked, $59.99

maschinenbau
maschinenbau SuperDork
9/30/19 1:15 p.m.

Get the pants too while you're at it. 

Patrick
Patrick MegaDork
9/30/19 1:56 p.m.

So after you run you can take off your pants and jacket

Dusterbd13-michael
Dusterbd13-michael MegaDork
9/30/19 2:04 p.m.

I have jim pierces (ovid and flem) firesuit here, along with mine. I'll follow the spirit of him, and offer it to anyone that needs to borrow one at the challenge.

He was a BIG man. I'm 5'9 and 230lbs and its loose on me. I think he was 6'5. 

jfryjfry
jfryjfry Dork
9/30/19 8:09 p.m.

*tear*  I never met the man and have never attended a challenge but I miss him.

Stampie
Stampie UltimaDork
9/30/19 8:14 p.m.

In reply to jfryjfry :

Yesterday I was telling my mom about $2016 Challenge bar build. We showed up at the hotel with debris from whatever hurricane hit us that year. I'm in mid bar build with skill saw going and busy building the bar top. Jim wandered over with his beer in hand and sat down at the half finished bar. He just sat there enjoying his beer while I built the bar around him. He'll always be missed. 

Robbie
Robbie UltimaDork
10/11/19 11:27 a.m.