Presented by Nine Lives Racing
NOT A TA
NOT A TA SuperDork
11/26/20 12:46 p.m.

Saw a link posted on FRRAX forum to this article on Essex that was written/posted a few days ago. https://www.essexparts.com/news-blog/do-i-need-brake-ducts-on-my-track-car

I like the article, good job presenting the info. I'd credit the author but his/her name isn't shown. This is the way I designed the system in my car and (even though) as mentioned in the article I may not actually need it. Will find out when I get the car back on track. I figured it would be easier to build a system while the car was apart rather than try to build the system into an assembled vehicle. The only thing I see missing from the article is a section about the placement and openings for the ducts in a high pressure area.

The article led me to wonder since I have very little Auto-X experience, do the serious players warm up their brakes before a run? When I ran my car on road tracks I'd use the first couple laps to warm up the tires & brakes slowly.

AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter)
AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
11/26/20 5:33 p.m.

Well-written and accurate. They're not saying ducts are bad, they're just saying do it right ie aim them at the hub so the air pumps through the vanes and has a chance to cool inboard and outboard brake plates.

SnowMongoose
SnowMongoose SuperDork
11/26/20 6:09 p.m.

Solid article!

Penned by Jeff Ritter and Mike O’Neil.  

As far as AX goes, I've never seen anyone warm up their brakes.  
Lower speeds plus less 'racy' brake setups negate the need.

DjGreggieP
DjGreggieP HalfDork
11/27/20 12:04 p.m.

I should really get some pictures of the brake ducts I have for my car since they are *technically* an OEM piece. They were standard issue on any Intrepid put into police use, I picked them up from a member that was in financial strife at the time and liquidating parts. 

NOT A TA
NOT A TA SuperDork
11/28/20 7:40 p.m.
DjGreggieP said: