Presented by Nine Lives Racing
1 2
tugiaou
tugiaou
6/28/12 7:24 p.m.

I am new to this forum but I have been reading GRM since 2008. What I don't understand is why wings are attached on Solo/ slalom cars. I am an aircraft engineer and have worked with a pro Formula Atlantic team and wings really only start working at 70 mph! The weight would be negative and down force is so minimal. Wings really are effective at 100 mph and above. The time dialing in mechanical grip would be much better than a wing could ever achieve. That is of course if slalom cars do hit 100 mph on the corners. What do I know ; I have only worked on open wheel cars and never slalomed a car. Someone who has really improved their time through wings please educate me. I have been wrong before and I know some day I will be wrong again! Tugiaou

ransom
ransom Dork
6/28/12 8:00 p.m.

If wings start working at 70mph, explain an Alaska bush plane's stall speed

In all seriousness, if you're an aircraft engineer, I figure you've forgotten more about aerodynamics than I'll ever know, but given what is known about solo wings, I assume you simply aren't considering what a wing tailored to low-speed applications can do.

Just googling autocross or solo aero should get you some results, but this being the GRM forums, someone with firsthand experience should be along shortly...

If you've been reading since 2008... I'm trying to recall whether there was testing data along with the new wings built for Per's B Mod LeGrand... Hrm, doesn't look like it. Several iterations of wing construction, but no downforce numbers.

Here's a previous discussion on the forum.

JoeyM
JoeyM SuperDork
6/28/12 8:01 p.m.
tugiaou wrote: I am an aircraft engineer and have worked with a pro Formula Atlantic team and wings really only start working at 70 mph! The weight would be negative and down force is so minimal. Wings really are effective at 100 mph and above.