1 2 3
aselmike
aselmike
1/26/19 4:01 p.m.

Howdy! I wanted to share my project car with you guys. I've been working on it for a while and the guys over at theamcforum.com have been helping me. However, when I started reading GRM I knew I wanted to take part. The projects here are awesome and ambitious! 

I bought the rambler in high school when I was 16. I drove it for two years every day and took my wife on our first date in it! When I was still in high school, I decided to give the car a rustoleum plaid paint job. It's outrageous looking, and its tons of fun to drive around looking the way it does.

I parked it at my grandmother's house when I went to college. I spent most of college dreaming up what to do with it after I graduated. I wanted to replace everything with new components. When hurricane Harvey hit Houston, the car got drowned in grandma's garage. That gave me the kick start I needed to get off my butt and get started. 

The plan for the car is to replace all electric and mechanical components with late model parts. I want to drive the car to work, and probably do some drag racing and autocross.

So without further ado, here's a huge picture dump with some explanation along the way! 

Here's the car after getting power washed and pulled to my house from grandma's.

I drug it into the garage, and put it on some really tall homemade jack stands.

I tore it down.

I took all that old stuff to the scrap yard, and started searching for "new" stuff!

I pulled the front and rear suspension out of this burned c4 corvette for $400

I cut the shock towers and old front subframe out of the rambler (it's a unibody)

Then I installed a new front subframe for mounting the C4 front suspension to. 

More to come soon! I'm going to make another post with the rest of my progress to date.

aselmike
aselmike New Reader
1/26/19 4:02 p.m.

Next a buddy and I made a crossmember to hang the rear suspension from.

Then I mounted it in the car.