1 2 3
klipless
klipless Reader
5/24/17 2:10 p.m.

So I have this Camaro that has been sitting in my garage for six years, and it hasn’t ran in just over a decade, although it supposedly ran when parked. I like to think that I have enough mechanical skill to get this thing running. However, I’m a total newbie when it comes to classic muscle cars and their carbureted witchcraft. I’m hoping to tap in to the hive mind to help me come up with a plan to get this thing running so it can finally be enjoyed.

The car is not a show queen by any measure…maybe from 20 feet…if you have cataracts. It seems to be pretty solid with a healthy dose of patina. I’m hoping that it’ll turn in to a nice driver’s car.

A little backstory on the car. My father-in-law spent most of his career working for the ad agency that had the Pontiac account. He likes cars, but isn’t much of a wrench twirler. Several years before I met my wife, his parents passed away leaving him with a modest inheritance. With his wife’s permission, he used some of those funds to buy one of his dream cars, a GTO. Fast forward a few years, and my wife (we still hadn’t met at that time) was over at her parents’ house helping out her mom. The phone rings and she answers it. After a few “uhuh’s” and “okay’s”, she hangs up and her mom askes who it was. It was the storage company a few miles away, and they’re closing up shop. Her dad needs to pick up his Camaro by the end of next week. A Camaro that his wife didn’t know about. Apparently this almost led to a divorce, but they’re still happily married to this day, c’est la vie. Anyway, the Camaro was parked at their house for several years before they downsized to a condo. They had no place to store it, so they gave it to my wife and me when they moved. Where it has sat for the last six years, mocking me. I’d like to get this thing running on the sly and surprise my father-in-law by picking him up for a cruise up and down Woodward.