1 2 3
frecks
frecks New Reader
11/3/15 10:47 p.m.

I've been enjoying reading the GRM forum since I found it a couple months ago & I just picked up a new project, so I figure it's time for me to finally join the fun here.

I have a nice 2011 VW GTI that is reliable, practical, & lots of fun to drive. I love that car, but I found myself wanting something that would challenge me to learn more than a reliable DD does. I wanted something fun with a manual transmission & rear wheel drive, and I didn't have more than $1,000 to spend on it because I finally bought myself a welder last week. I've been passively searching for "the answer" for several months.

On Saturday, I picked up my new 1994 Miata. It was listed on Craigslist for $1000. This is what she looked like when I went to see it. This is her good side, the other side has a bit of a story.

There are copious amounts of rust on the rockers, fenders, & underbody. 21 years of ungaraged life in Michigan winters will do that to a car. The drivetrain, interior, & soft top seem to be pretty solid though. A quick call to Mazda with the VIN confirmed that it was equipped with the Torsen LSD. I wrote the rust off as a good excuse to play with my new welder & offered the seller $500 cash after showing him this picture of the underbody rust. The seller said he was really hoping to get $600, so I obliged & I drove my new Miata the 3 miles home.