1 2
NorseDave
NorseDave Reader
7/15/19 9:54 a.m.

I've been planning on doing this for something like 2 years now.  Gradually accumulating new parts as budget allows, hitting the local pick-n-pull when the right vehicle rolls in, fab'ing stuff as needed so I can be as ready as possible once I actually take the car off the road.  Well, that day finally happened on Saturday.  I've never done any standalone ECU stuff before, so this is my project to learn on.  Since the 190E ignition and fuel systems are basically completely separate, I'm starting with a fuel-only setup.  

So, on to a few pics, starting with a stock (afaik) M102 engine that made a whopping 130hp new.  

Let the disassembly begin.  After pulling the battery, the air cleaner was next to go, which then reveals the fuel distributor.  These are continuous injection systems, so it's pretty much entirely mechanical save for the electric fuel pump and the cold start injector.  I've heard that once the car was running, you could disconnect the computer and it would be fine.  Never tried that though.  Anyway, the mess of hard lines running everywhere is the fuel distributor.

Much to my amazement, after hitting everything w/ a brief blast of penetrant, every bolt and nut came off without any real issue.  The car was challenging to get started from cold, but once it was warm, it idled and ran super smooth.  Now I'm sort of amazed the thing ran at all, as virtually ever air & vacuum hose under the air cleaner was badly cracked or split.  So what isn't OBE as part of the MS changeover will be getting fixed.