1 2 3
RedGT
RedGT Dork
7/22/19 3:59 p.m.

I've been autocrossing Miatas for almost 10 years, starting with 4 different ES and street-tire ES cars from 2010-2013, and then building a pretty competitive STS Miata that I've campaigned since 2014.  I've also been tracking a 2006 Mazda3 occasionally for 4 years now.  The one thing that those cars have in common is a complete and total lack of power, but also very light weight.  Between them they have around 225 whp.  Both of them.  Combined.

I owned a 2003 Dakota v8/5spd/2wd pickup that I bought to tow with, and put about 3,000 ordinary street miles on it in the 2 months it was on the road in 2018 before the clutch let go and I sold it for what I had in it.  That was far, far more fun than expected.  Around the same time I drove a couple of stupidly large, powerful cars at autocross events - a 2016 Chevy SS sedan, a 2017 GT350 Mustang, a 2004 Corvette Z06.  Very different, but lots of fun.  And I was actually not slow in them!  However every time I considered moving to a big car I got to 17" and 18" tire prices and stopped there.  I considered building the truck into a CAM or ESP vehicle but again...tire prices to keep it on competitive autocross rubber were a deterrent.

I made a thread looking for suggestions on a somewhat powerful RWD daily/track car in the $5k range.  At the time I was looking for a reasonable amount of luxury too, and was looking into Infiniti G35s and newer v6 Mustangs I couldn't quite afford to ball up on track.  F-bodies seemed too old, rough, etc - but then as life happened, once my daughter entered all-day school, I was doing 90% of my driving alone.  If we go anywhere we take my wife's 'nice' car, so suddenly the quiet interior and comfortable ride for my commuter fell way down the priority list.