saazbaru
saazbaru
12/30/17 2:48 a.m.

First off, let me introduce myself. I am a junior mechanical engineering student at the University of Arizona. When I'm not working hard to achieve mediocre grades, I'm either working on our Baja SAE (god bless having welders available) car or one of my many (too many, if you ask my mother) personal car projects. I wanted to document my work to turn my Miata into a possibly functional track car mostly because I love reading other people's build threads (well, the good ones wink) and some small (incorrect) part of me thought my struggles with basic things might provide some entertainment for other people. Also apologies for the lack of older pictures, they've all already been deleted by now.

Background: 

At the tender age of 15, I was inspired. Wrongly inspired and definitely delusional but inspired nonetheless. I discovered that there was a golden age of simple old British sports cars that all true car enthusiast pine for so I had to have one. But it gets better. As these cars were small and light and had all the safety features of a push stroller, I was convinced that if I could just install a modest modern engine and driveline (a Miata would do), I would immediately have a car that was FAST. Well this scheme was shot down by smarter people before it ever got off the ground. Unfortunately not before I ended up with an ill advisedly purchased 1976 MG Midget from Craigslist without an engine or a transmission or really anything useful attached to it at all. A shell.