1 2
RamiE
RamiE New Reader
8/11/22 7:08 p.m.

Hi Everyone!

I've lurked here for years but never posted a build thread so here goes.

A little bit about me: GRM and the Challenge were my first introductions to motorsport back when I was in college with Wreck Racing. After graduation I worked in the automotive aftermarket industry and was involved with a Subaru time attack team doing engineering development before I moved to the UK to work in motorsport.

When I was in high school I bought a 1975 2002 from my late Uncle's automotive shop. My uncle was a big influence of my automotive interests, and probably the reason I was crazy about 2002s at a young age. Unfortunately after high school the car sat without much work done to it as I built up my motorsport career. I'm hoping to get the car running within the next 3 years for the car's 50th birthday. The goal is to do a modern interpretation of a 70s GT racer. In the short term I plan to swap in a k24 with Jenvey ITBs (the version that look like Webber sidedrafts). In the long term I plan to do look at doing an Alpina style widebody and hopefully with some aero/aerothermal design to enhance the performance of the car while trying to look mostly period correct.

Here's a picture of my late Uncle's 1969 2002 and my gateway into the 2002 world:

Here's a picture of the car from when I was 16:

This car has sat in various parking lots and storage for years. Finally today I had it towed to my friend's shop where I'll be removing the old M10 and trans and starting to plan out the eventual K-Swap with a Getrag 260 out of a 325i.

I live in England and the car is in America so updates will be sparse, but I hope to share my journey with you all, thanks for reading!

Stampie
Stampie MegaDork
8/11/22 7:46 p.m.

Cool.  I have a 76 2002 parts car that was free to me so let me know if you want free to you parts.

Slippery
Slippery PowerDork
8/11/22 7:49 p.m.

Following

RamiE
RamiE New Reader
8/12/22 11:31 a.m.
Stampie said: