1 2 3
Greg Smith (Forum Supporter)
Greg Smith (Forum Supporter) Dork
2/5/20 1:42 p.m.

After about a year's daydreaming, idle searching, then more serious searching, I found my unicorn. 

My daily silver 2006 NC Miata Grand Touring was getting long in the tooth, and after having some electrical issues around the #2 cylinder (that came back) I decided I wanted to move on from that specific car. It had rolled over 200,000 miles and the clutch had reached the point of obnoxiousness. Likely a full refresh of the clutch hydraulics would solve the issue... but I was getting tired of the idiosyncrasies piling up. 

The unicorn was a 2009 (first year of the NC2 updates, with improved driveline and interior ergonomics. I've been driving NC's since 2008, first with a 2007 Sport model, followed by the 2006 Grand Touring. Both have a door mounted cup holder that digs in to the driver's thigh. The NC2 recesses it and smooths out the door panel. From 2009-2015, with the run of the NC3, only a few hundred were made in Competition Yellow. I've seen a few of these around my work area and it turns out one was available at a dealer for what seemed to be a reasonable price just as I was getting unhappy with the silver one. 

mr2s2000elise
mr2s2000elise Dork
2/5/20 1:43 p.m.

Congrats. As a long time miata owner (NA,nb,msm,nc2), I hate the NC1. 

love the nc2 prht gt  we have. 

Congrats on the competition yellow. I recall at dealers when they were new 

Dusterbd13-michael
Dusterbd13-michael MegaDork
2/5/20 1:46 p.m.

Giggity!

Greg Smith
Greg Smith Dork
2/5/20 1:49 p.m.

I think it showed up on AutoTrader or cars.com. I stopped by the dealer on a rainy Friday after a meeting at work, then agreed to come back Saturday to work out details.