1 2
Carl Heideman
Carl Heideman
1/20/21 8:26 p.m.

I've been writing for GRM and CMS for about 20 years and pretty much since the first year, David, Tim, and Margie send a nice little gift at Christmas.  About 10 years ago, when my kids were about the right age, they sent a Scalextric race track that we set up in the basement.

My two sons loved racing those GT40s and as the years went on, we added more cars.  We also bought a 2nd set on clearance at the local hobby shop when they got out of slot cars and were able to combine the sets to go to four lanes.

The layout was about 4x10' and we had about 10-15 cars and had a lot of fun racing after dinner a lot of nights.  It stopped after a kitchen fire (started by the dishwasher!) really messed up our house.  Not much was burned, but the whole house was badly water and smoke damaged so we had to move out, remodel, and move back 8 months later (note: fires really suck).  The slot cars were in the basement slightly offset from the kitchen and got a little water damaged, but pretty much survived.  When we moved back, we didn't set them up again as the boys were into other teenage distractions by then.

I own Eclectic Motorworks and a couple of years ago we bought a 2nd building to grow our slightly upscale storage business.  At 18,000 square feet, it holds about 70-80 cars neatly spaced and we've tried to maintain a high standard of cleanliness and presentation so customers can really enjoy visiting their cars.  

The building has a large office that I rented back to the previous owner since I didn't need it.  When he moved out, COVID had hit and commercial office space is not worth much anymore.  Plus, we had hatched another plan to make it a space for customer events and a classroom for our technical seminars.