1 2 3
SkinnyG
SkinnyG SuperDork
2/22/14 3:26 p.m.

I bought this truck to replace the The Hideous Hardbody, whose standard cab wasn't going to fit me and my two pre-teen boys much longer.

On looking for a larger replacement truck, knowing I am going to modify it, this was available with a fairly cheap buy-in. I began working on this with a good group of students from my Mechanics class (I'm a shop teacher). I neglected to take sweet pictures of it in its larval stages. Imagine that you saw them.

1977 Chevy C10 Silverado 350/TH350, Rochester, 3.07 gears 122,000 miles, bought from the original owner.

Imagine the box still on the truck:

mazdeuce
mazdeuce UltraDork
2/22/14 5:54 p.m.

I like this. My dad had a 76 that is the first truck I can remember. It was loud and stinky and we hauled firewood in it and we didn't have to wear seatbelts when we did that as long as we didn't tell mom. Looking forward to the build.

Gearheadotaku
Gearheadotaku UberDork
2/22/14 6:04 p.m.

Looks like a solid start. Stock or resto-mod?

SkinnyG
SkinnyG Dork
2/22/14 9:14 p.m.

Resto-mod-esque. I have never owned or kept anything "stock." Because that's my personal Albatross.

SkinnyG
SkinnyG SuperDork
2/23/14 10:07 a.m.

I don't care for the long box, and short box are hard to find here. First thing we did was pull the box off and shorten the frame. We carefully measured the frame and took 14" out just behind the cab.

We used a removed section as the fish plate, and welded it together.

I cut 5" off the back of the frame, and moved the rear crossmember to the next forward set of holes.

New holes were drilled to mount the box.

Rearmost crossmember was moved to the next forward set of holes, and more hole drilling for the box mounts.

I could not find a good (or shortenable) driveshaft at the wreckers, so we had a driveshaft made.