Project_Brumble
Project_Brumble
4/30/20 5:13 a.m.

Hi Everyone,

New to the forum and just starting the build I have been dreaming about for the last 4 years at University.

Currently I have done most of the work on CAD but now I am getting into the actual building it is time to seek help from people who have done this before!

Here are some pics of what I have so far (CAD). I have built a jig table for the chassis and have the engine. Now I need to get a hold of a donor body and start building!

The first question I have is regarding max operating angles for CV joints. I want to put the engine as far forward as possible, but this is restricted by the max angle that the drive axles (rear) can operate. Is it possible to shift the engine and gearbox forward and run the drive axles at an angle when viewed from above? Or is it best to accept the position of the engine and avoid any issues this will give me?

Stay tuned as the build continues!

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ PowerDork
4/30/20 6:09 a.m.

Oh this is going to be so cool.

What type of CV joints are you using?  It may take some digging, but I bet there is a maximum operating angle listed somewhere for them, or you can get close with the specs of a similar design.

For example, chosen at random, if you scroll down on this page for an RCV Series 30 joint you'll see a maximum angle of 28 degrees, so you would need to stay short of that and make sure the plunge is in range throughout your suspension travel.

wheelsmithy (Joe-with-an-L)
wheelsmithy (Joe-with-an-L) UltraDork
4/30/20 6:11 a.m.

Most excellent project. I have always had a soft spot for the Brumpy (Brat here in USA). 

I'd say accept where correct axle angles place the engine. Keep It Simple Stupidsmiley. To my eye, not tape measure, the front of the engine will be very near the stock rear bulkhead this way anyway, and your f/r balance will be great.  I just learned that  the EZ30 is a  Subaru flat 6, which reinforces my opinion.

Welcome to the forum.