1 2 3
wae
wae Dork
2/23/18 8:32 a.m.

Laying in bed, trying to go to sleep two nights ago, I was scrolling through craigslist when I found an ad without any pictures offering a 1997 Miata for $1,200.  I usually don't bother with ads sans pictures, but it happened to be in the same city that I live in, so I went ahead and opened it up.  According to the seller, the car was in "good" condition, but suffering from a bad head gasket.  Reading further, the tires were new as was the clutch.  It's a manual and has a rollbar and only has just over 105k on the clock.  What really got my attention, though, was that the car was advertised as having a hard top.  I'm not an expert, but I know that those hardtops can command a good price all on their own, so at the asking price it didn't seem like I could possibly lose.  I showed my wife and remarked that it was a really good deal and she more or less demanded that I respond to the ad.  What an enabler she is!  I emailed right away and the next morning as I was getting in to work, the seller responded and we started going back and forth.  Turns out the car is parked at a local garage and they're the ones that diagnosed it as needing a headgasket.  I needed to swing by the kids' school anyway and it's about a quarter mile from there, so I went ahead and stopped in to take a look.