1 2 3
Scotty Con Queso
Scotty Con Queso SuperDork
3/18/21 5:39 p.m.

This build saga begins in late 2019.  I had been messing around with my DSM's since 2016 and they were nothing but bad to me.  I discovered Sloppy Mechanics about that time.  After watching Matt Happel build a really simple Colorado, I knew it was something I could do and wanted to do.  So one day I was watching Youtube and said...

That led me to sell my DSM and go down the path of obtaining an LS-based engine and Colorado swap candidate, but that hasn't been so easy.

Scotty Con Queso
3/18/21 5:44 p.m.

Early 2020, soon after selling my DSM, I found a complete 4.8 over in Ohio for $225 complete with harness and PCM.  That's the only good thing about being  a southerner re-located to the land of sodium chloride, LS based engines are crazy plentiful and had for cheap.  I was pretty happy with my complete purchase.

Unfoutunatley, I didn't pop the valve covers before bringing the engine home.  When I did, I found this:

Hard packed sludge on everything.  I don't think the oil had been changed.  Ever.  I also noticed that the thrust bearings were toast:

So what's a boy to do?  I parted out this harness, shortblock, heads, and other misc items and also kept a good amount of parts.  Made my money back with ease and set out again to find another 4.8 or 5.3. 

Scotty Con Queso
3/18/21 5:47 p.m.

Like I said, land of cheap 5.3's.  I found this unit on Facebook for $300 from a frame-rusted 2002 Silverado.  Pronounced Silver-Ray-Doh around these parts.  I used my Gen IV 5.3 to obtain my Gen III 5.3:

This engine was clean:

Mucho Better, but it was far from clean:

Scotty Con Queso
3/18/21 5:47 p.m.

More tragic news to follow...

DjGreggieP
DjGreggieP HalfDork
3/18/21 6:00 p.m.

Following. I have this strange desire to LS swap my Colorado, but first I need a solid DD to drive instead of it at any point.

Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter)
Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
3/18/21 6:04 p.m.