1 2
DaveInColumbus
DaveInColumbus New Reader
3/26/23 10:55 a.m.

In February 2023 I bought Harvey's 2006 C6 Z06.  He recorded his history of the car starting in August 2016 so I thought "Why not start a thread to continue telling this car's tale?"

Why I Bought Red Zed

Around 1977, my six-year-old self accompanied my father to the local Chevrolet dealer in Middletown, Ohio for a test drive in a Chevrolet Chevette.  Dad wisely avoided purchasing the Chevette, but I remember seeing a Corvette in the showroom.  It might have been silver.  In any case, I was smitten at that time and Corvettes became something of an obsession.  When I pictured myself driving a car, it was in a Corvette.

In 1995 I was a struggling college student who needed to get out from under a car payment.  A church friend offered me his broken 1984 Pontiac Fiero for $250.  It needed at least a head gasket and a radiator.  I'd never done any major car work before but I was game.  I asked if I could fix it in his garage and he said "Take all the time you need."  I bought all the books, the tools, the supplies, and the parts and in 2.5 weeks, I drove home a properly functioning Pontiac Fiero.

Fieros became an obsession.  Around 1996 or 1997, I found Fiero.org, a listserv with a few hundred other Fiero owners and enthusiasts.  It's owner was an irascible, often irrational and rash admin of whom you could run afoul for the most meaningless things, but that was the state of the art and I found community there.  In 1999 I attended The First and Maybe Last All Fiero Swap Meet (or whatever it was called) at The Fiero Factory, a shop in Toney, Alabama owned by the inimitable and ever-helpful Ed Parks.  I attended every single Swap Meet in person for the next decade, until Ed sold the shop.  But by the end of that run, I no longer had running Fieros and I wasn't so interested in them any more: wife, kids, career.... you know.