1 2 3
Ethan VQFC
Ethan VQFC New Reader
1/12/15 4:55 p.m.

Hello, I am somewhat new to GRM, but I feel this is the best place for my build.  I have been at this project on and off for roughly two years with some breaks here and there. I got the car locally and ended up trading a salvage title e28 535i for it to find out later that the 13b had severe overheating issues. So, instead of being responsible and fixing it, I took it to a local track day called, "Stateline Drift" and immediatly overheated... a few times. Needless to say, the plans for a new engine began.

I tossed around the idea of a 20b, too expensive. Iron block V8's, JZ, RB, VG were all too heavy. LS swaps are everywhere already & SR's weren't enough of an upgrade to justify the cost. So what engines were left? VQ35DE. Almost 100hp/ltr, aluminum block, half the price of an LS1 and something like 40 lbs heavier than the stock 13b. Being only 3 cylinders long, nearly the entire engine is behind the front subframe which makes for great handling.

Here are some pictures of the current parts installed and to be installed: BC BR Type coilovers with 11k/9k swift springs. Abercrombie motorsports steering angle kit and PBM solid diff (not pictured) and subframe mounts. A picture of the car before the project T2 rear end with the solid mounts installed Suspension installed Full 2ND hand BN Sports widebody, likely a replica the VQ with megan headers (still front sump in this picture) Much more to come in the next couple hours...

Dusterbd13
Dusterbd13 SuperDork
1/12/15 5:26 p.m.

Subbd for awesomeness.

JacktheRiffer
JacktheRiffer Reader
1/12/15 6:07 p.m.

This is gonna be awesome

clutchsmoke
clutchsmoke Dork
1/12/15 7:56 p.m.

I am interested.

wvumtnbkr
wvumtnbkr Dork
1/12/15 9:14 p.m.

What is the bolt for on the balljoint?

Boso_FC
Boso_FC New Reader
1/12/15 9:35 p.m.

In reply to wvumtnbkr:

Bolts into the backside of the knuckle. Unless your mistaking the tie rod end for the ball joint?

Ethan VQFC