dr_strangeland
dr_strangeland Reader
12/21/21 8:30 p.m.

I got this car a couple of years ago to save it from getting auctioned and parted out, and I don't have anywhere to keep it nor the patience to restore it properly. I'm not good at that stuff. It needs to go to someone who wants a solid, completely stock starting point for a Corrado restoration project. 

The good: Everything is original. Original paint. Original interior. Original stereo. Original wheels. Original suspension. It appears to never have been modified in any way. Ride height is stock. Boost level is stock. It hasn't been 'returned to stock configuration', it has never been any other way. The odometer shows 62420 miles, and it works perfectly. Everything seems to work, with the exception of the weird passive restraint seat belts and the rear spoiler. It even smells like the 90s VW plastics inside. Runs and drives really nicely, feels like the low mileage car it is. Shift linkages are tight and the car doesn't feel like it was ever abused. No rot, or rust anywhere other than where the bodywork has been damaged.

The bad: Everything is original. No restoration has been done so far, other than the mechanical work that has been done to the car. Seals are original and the sunroof leaks. Electrics are all original, which means the headlights are, well, compromised by design. There is a fair number of dings and dents, but no bodywork has been done, so what you see is what you get. It has been sitting and the gas needs to be drained. The car is in need of a full restoration.

The previous owner abandoned it at a shop after some $3500 of work was done including a timing belt. I spent some months and a bunch of fees tracking down the title. The title is clear and I have multiple copies. It was too nice to let the shop sell it on, I thought. I changed the plug wires, plugs, distributor cap and rotor but otherwise didn't get into the big stuff.