octavious
octavious Dork
2/27/21 10:03 a.m.

My son (11) is saving for his first car project. Maybe I am rubbing off on him? We have a family member who has a 1973 VW standard beetle that I'm fairly certain he could get for free or cheap. I know the 73 well and have worked on it over the years, but I am by no means a VW expert. I know about rust areas (floor pans, battery tray, etc.) Mostly I have questions about model changes on trim and paint. Here are some things I don't know:

- Early beetles had seats with lower back rests, when did that stop?

- when did the uglier impact style bumpers, like on the 73 start?

- where they always available with two tone paint? Like where the doors below the chrome trim line are white and the rest of the body is a different color. 

- I've seen some work small chrome vents on the lower front bumper. How long did that last? 

- I vaguely remember reading that standards make better Bajas. Is that true? and vice versa, I know about front lowering beams, but that wouldn't apply to Super Beetles right? 

I assume most of these were related to earlier versions since the 73 doesn't have any of them. 

noddaz
noddaz UltraDork
2/27/21 10:23 a.m.

1968 was a big change over year if I remeber correctly.  High back seats, bigger bumpers, sealed beam headlamps.

This says it is a 1967.  Maybe not the best picture because it has high back seats.

And this says it is a 1968.  Which looks like it has low back seats.

In that time frame was also the transition from swing axle to CV axle rear suspension.  Also from wide 5 lug to 4 lug wheels.

And the small chrome grills on the 1967 are for the single horn.

And you are correct, lowering beams are not for Super Beetles.  Super Beetles have Macpherson strut suspension in the front.

Slippery (Forum Supporter)
Slippery (Forum Supporter) UberDork
2/27/21 11:06 a.m.
californiamilleghia
californiamilleghia SuperDork
2/27/21 11:27 a.m.