chrisd1984
chrisd1984
5/4/11 10:46 a.m.

Hi, I just have a question regarding the purchase of a classic car for year round driving.

I'm a fairly young driver and I cannot stand driving newer vehicles. I found a 1973 Plymouth Satellite in good shape that's been certified and I'm thinking of going ahead with a purchase. The price is very good and would leave me a little money over in the event that something unforeseeable happens with the car.

My concern is, this would be my only car so I would be driving it 4-5 times a week year round. That being said, I would store it in a warm garage and store it in a parking garage when I drive it out in the winter and have to park it somewhere. The winters here are so so: I live in the Toronto area of Ontario so there isn't a lot of snow but still a little bit of salt on the roads and the occasional snow storm.

The way I see it though is that these cars were driven in winters for several decades when they first came out, so am I wrong to assume I can use it year round?

Is there any feedback anyone can give me? Perhaps a better model of car that would withstand the winters if treated with the proper care? Or is there any advice to totally protect a classic car from the threats of the wintertime? Winter time in Toronto lasts about 4 months (November to March) with snow intermittently. The car has also been rust proofed too and is 98% rust free.

AndreGT6
AndreGT6 Dork
5/4/11 11:00 a.m.

1 word.

SALT!

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim SuperDork
5/4/11 11:47 a.m.

+1 on Andre's comment. Most of the rust proofing will delay the onset of rust but you've got to be very dilligent in keeping the car clean over the winter and keep the various rust proofing methods (cavity wax, underbody whatever) up to date.

I wouldn't really do that, I'd see if I could get a beater for the snowy and wet weather and only drive a classic on the nice winter days.

stu67tiger
stu67tiger Reader
5/4/11 11:58 a.m.