saruken
saruken Reader
1/5/22 8:26 p.m.

So I bought a junkyard 2nd gen Civic hatchback for the approximate cost of a Donkey Kong Country cartridge. It looks like this:

I'm currently in the process of pulling everything out for a b-series swap, and started wondering if it wouldn't make sense to just adapt the whole front suspension from a more recent Civic. Something with lots of aftermarket support.

I'm prepared to do a bunch of mechanical and metal work on this project, but I have very little experience with suspension stuff. Could somebody point me to a build thread where something similar was done? Tips? Suggestions?

spacecadet (Forum Supporter)
spacecadet (Forum Supporter) UltraDork
1/5/22 8:53 p.m.

You're most likely charting this path 100% on your own..

Wild idea... Good luck!

CrustyRedXpress
CrustyRedXpress HalfDork
1/5/22 9:03 p.m.

In reply to spacecadet (Forum Supporter) :

Nah-civic swaps are like a million monkeys at a million keyboards. Every permutation has been tried, and occasionally a masterpiece emerges. 

I'm like 99% sure that we have a forum guy who did a k-swap into a yellow 1st or 2nd gen. Hope he pops in.

mdshaw
mdshaw HalfDork
1/5/22 9:11 p.m.

I put a D16Z6 in my '76. It barely fits, there is about 1" clearance all around the motor.  The transmission side (right side) sheet metal had to be massaged -beaten in so the trans would fit. I've heard of a B done but it would be super tight but the 2nd gen is a bit bigger. 
I left the suspension stock except for all new urethane bushings & thankfully BCR made custom coilovers for the '72-'77 Civic/CVCC's. 
My friend & I made custom motor mounts , axle shop made custom Hy-Tuff axles, I put together rear discs made from Prelude parts & modified EG rear hubs & lots of other newer Civic brake parts. For the shifter just take both years & after the motor/trans is in, it's just a matter of cutting off the unused ends & welding the  shifter torsion bar & shifter linkage together.