1 2 3
EricJ17
EricJ17 New Reader
12/1/22 10:07 a.m.

Hello all! Long story short, I bought an E90 328i as my beginner track car and a fun(ish) street car. That car is going to become my daily driver next fall, and I want to get a different fun/weekend car that can handle two to three track days per year. Right now the 986 S and e46 (coupe) check the most of my boxes. I've only been to one track day so I'm a complete beginner, and I don't think I have any real interest in wheel to wheel racing or TT so I'm just looking for what will be the most fun car to take to HPDE and open lapping that I can grow into a bit and keep for a long time, but won't be overwhelming for a beginner.

For anyone that has tracked both the 986 S and the e46 M3, is one substantially more fun than the other on track? I want the convertible for the street, but I also want to maximize fun on track. I can only afford to buy one of these cars, and I wouldn't buy a convertible e46 M3. Thanks for any input!

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH MegaDork
12/1/22 10:31 a.m.

Getting a dedicated track car for just a few track days a year seems like overkill. You might want to consider getting something more practical as a second vehicle that can work as a backup DD, and keeping the E90 as a dual-duty street & track car.

I don't have experience with those two models specifically but I don't think the additional fun of a 986 would be worth the cost of a whole 986. Once you have a fairly competent sports car you'll quickly hit diminishing returns in terms of fun, and once you get into high-end sports car territory the speed of the vehicle can even make it less fun. So if it's just for fun, again I think you should save your money and stick to the E90, at least until you start to feel like the car's holding you back or that you want to do at least one event per month.

Tyler H
Tyler H UberDork
12/1/22 10:32 a.m.