1 2
BenB
BenB Reader
11/10/15 8:32 a.m.

I've been working out of our house for the past few years, and just got new job that will require me to commute to an office. My wife saw the article in the latest GRM about the $1000 Miata, and said, "You should do that so you don't wear out your car (a low-mileage '04 Mazdaspeed)." Thanks, GRM (and my wife, too)!!!

David S. Wallens
David S. Wallens Editorial Director
11/10/15 8:43 a.m.

You're very welcome. By the way, a $500 Miata recently fell into our laps. The take-home answer: These deals are out there.

alfadriver
alfadriver UltimaDork
11/10/15 8:46 a.m.

When I saw a $1700 NB locally, it sure made me think.

Good luck! You will have fun.

David S. Wallens
11/10/15 9:32 a.m.

We had a few NBs at the Challenge. Yeah, some killer deals are out there.

TiggerWelder
TiggerWelder New Reader
11/10/15 10:09 a.m.

I have been driving a $1000 '94 for four years now. It had hit a curb sideways on the drivers side. I replaced the rear subframe, rear upper control arm, front lower control arm, inner and outer tie rod, motor mounts and a couple wheels. After about three years, the key sheared on the crank and it over heated. For fun I put a '99 1.8 in it and a new clutch and header. I love the car, great mileage compared to my Suburban, cheap on insurance as it is liability only, and a blast to drive. I have a spare tub with most of the suspension if you need parts once you get one.

Toebra
Toebra Reader
11/10/15 10:32 a.m.

You will also spend WAY less on fuel. You can burn regular instead of premium, and it will get better fuel economy. My Mazdaspeed does not seem to be able to get much over 22 or 23 MPG. I think there must be something wrong with the accelerator pedal, it seems to be drawn to the floor somehow.

David S. Wallens
11/10/15 10:34 a.m.
Toebra wrote: I think there must be something wrong with the accelerator pedal, it seems to be drawn to the floor somehow.

Gravity. Must be gravity.

BenB
BenB Reader