1 2
Somebeach
Somebeach New Reader
5/1/18 9:10 p.m.

So I had been shopping around for a 70’s corolla wagon for awhile.

https://grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/grm/70s-corolla/137850/page1/

Long story short found a 1983. Probably didn’t ask enough questions before I took the long trip to go and buy it. Rustier than I had thought. Was advertised as a transmission issue but engine was ok. 

So here is me trying to start it: 

https://youtu.be/hc05ISkFr2s

any idea’s ? Keep in mind I am just starting out trying to learn how to work on my own cars. 

Also any info on the wheels would be good. The guy said they were popular in Puerto Rico? And if I were to ever sell them he may want to buy them from me. 

KyAllroad (Jeremy)
KyAllroad (Jeremy) PowerDork
5/1/18 11:19 p.m.

I had a 1980 SR-5 hatchback in high school.  It was a pretty serious dog stock but responded nicely to old school hot roddy stuff.  Weber carb, headers, opened up exhaust and it pulled strong through redline.  The 3T-C engine is stout and will take a ton of abuse.  I did stiff shocks and springs as well, just because.  Actually got my start autocrossing it at Otis Air Base on Cape Cod in.......1989 surprise

They are fun cars, primitive and slow by today’s standards but the longitudinal layout and simple RWD setup just felt right.

Ransom
Ransom PowerDork
5/1/18 11:32 p.m.

There are some funky noises there. Not sure whether mic location is making the rattling sound worse than it actually is, or whether it's something normal made to sound funny.

Has it been sitting? If I try on my optimistic glasses, I can wonder whether it's old gas or a carb that needs cleaning, or both. It's starting, so it's got spark. No guarantee the spark is happening at the right time, but it seems to be trying, and timing will be a lot easier to check once it's idling.