JeepinMatt
JeepinMatt HalfDork
6/19/10 9:52 p.m.

I'm no professional investor. Hell, I'm no investor. But I've heard several times recently that cars bottom out in value at around 10-15 years and then start to appreciate (if they're collectible enough). That seems awfully quick. I always seemed to notice that cars bottomed out the depreciation curve closer to 25 years or so. But they had graphs. I don't have fancy graphs. What's more accurate?

Toyman01
Toyman01 Dork
6/19/10 10:01 p.m.

Yes you are, you hang out here don't you. Now what was the question.

I would say 25 years at least. You can probably make better money in a simple savings account.

Also not an investor, and I didn't stay in a Holiday Inn Express so pay no attention to me.

teamdixonracing
teamdixonracing Dork
6/19/10 10:13 p.m.

As much as I love cars, I wouldn't think (accept in the rare case) that cars are your best investment.

I'm pretty much just interested in when the value hits the bottom so I spend less money.

JeepinMatt
JeepinMatt HalfDork
6/19/10 10:27 p.m.

I'm not really interested in making money off of them. I ask because many of my favorite cars are 20-30 years old and, as a buyer, it helps to pick them up near their lowest price. I don't wanna hear that they're gonna shoot up in value before I can buy 'em.

NYG95GA
NYG95GA SuperDork
6/19/10 10:52 p.m.

I have never personaly bought a car as an investment, but my business-savvy father has. He bought a near pristine 1957 RHD Silver Cloud in 1975 for $3700. Kept it in a garage, drove it to church once a week to keep fluids up, re-upholstered the interior in new leather and had it professionally repainted to original colors (Beige/Sand w/ red pinstripes). In 2005, we took it to Calloway Garden Concours and scored well; and at the auction following, it went for $3400