bgkast
bgkast PowerDork
4/15/21 4:16 p.m.

I've been looking for a 3/4 ton Suburban and found this one with "engine noise" at auction. It's not bid up very high because of the noise. 

It sounds like it could be an accessory to me, and if it's not a terminal engine issue it would be a good buy. I like the color and the low option "government spec". It's a gamble though, because it's too far away to get eyes on it.

LS engine experts, what say you?

noddaz
noddaz UltraDork
4/15/21 4:27 p.m.

I am no expert, but I would guess a cracked exhaust manifold.

And that is a nice color yellow.

DjGreggieP
DjGreggieP HalfDork
4/15/21 5:06 p.m.

Is it 6.0L or 5.3L?

bgkast
bgkast PowerDork
4/15/21 5:27 p.m.

In reply to DjGreggieP :

6.0. The 2500s didn't come with cylinder deactivation

DjGreggieP
DjGreggieP HalfDork
4/15/21 5:44 p.m.

In reply to bgkast :

It sounds like my 6.0L and it is missing some manifold studs, but it goes away when warm. I usually let it warm up a bit before driving so I am unsure if rpm affect it's rythmn or not. 

Placemotorsports
Placemotorsports HalfDork
4/15/21 6:06 p.m.

Definitely sounds exhaust related

Stampie
Stampie MegaDork
4/15/21 6:31 p.m.

I agree with exhaust but from the last auction I followed up in that area don't expect the prices to stay reasonable.

QuasiMofo (John Brown)
QuasiMofo (John Brown) MegaDork
4/15/21 6:50 p.m.

I think I would name that noise Kyle. It's a little annoying at first but once you realize that its okay and then all can hang and have fun.

akylekoz
akylekoz SuperDork
4/15/21 6:56 p.m.

I agree Kyle is a good name.

Frank would be my next choice.

ShawnG
ShawnG UltimaDork
4/15/21 7:43 p.m.

Can't help. I'm only a for-real mechanic.

bgkast
bgkast PowerDork
4/15/21 9:25 p.m.

Thanks guys. Very true that the prices often don't stay reasonable on these auctions.  There is a local boring white one up for auction tomorrow, but if the price on it goes crazy maybe I'll roll the dice on Kyle.