1 2
Mike
Mike SuperDork
12/23/19 11:33 p.m.

So, uh, now that I'm in the market, I'm looking for a Lotus Elise. I'm not near Wirewheel, though it is a contender. I'd like to get traction control, since I'm new to winter driving.

Anyway, I'm looking at this car, and it checks the boxes, except...

Does that not quite look right? Yeah, well, same here.

The carfax shows time in Canada. The interior is described as custom, but that doesn't mean anything in a car ad.

It's in budget and right down the road.

Please tell me how this is a stupid idea, and that I should just grab a flight from MDW to FLL and go for a winter drive in a car from Wirewheel.

Edit: I cannot believe I failed to include a link: https://www.autotrader.com/cars-for-sale/vehicledetails.xhtml?listingId=527462644

mr2s2000elise
mr2s2000elise Dork
12/23/19 11:57 p.m.

Original owner of an Elise, I say do it 

Mike
Mike SuperDork
12/24/19 1:21 a.m.

In reply to jazzop :

I've been in one, but haven't driven it  I'm 6'3". It's the getting in and the getting out without putting my hands on the ground that is in question. 

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
12/24/19 1:35 a.m.

You're going to winter drive an Elise?

Jay_W
Jay_W Dork
12/24/19 1:36 a.m.

I'm just over 6' and can wear one. I don't think I'd wanna do a long drive in one and I spect my definition of "long drive" would get drastically truncated were I to have one of these...still, much want.

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
12/24/19 1:44 a.m.

It is hard enough to be seen on the road in a tiny car like my red 90 Miata. I think being on the road in a car who's color is closer to concrete/asphalt color would be dangerous. 

The colorful wheels will help from the side view but I'd feel better if the wheels were red.  I'd also like it if there were something like a red windshield banner  or bonnet stripe to make you more noticeable and maybe keep people from pulling out in front of you. 

Appleseed
Appleseed MegaDork
12/24/19 3:01 a.m.