1 2
Klayfish
Klayfish New Reader
7/27/10 11:47 a.m.

So here's the deal. I'm a car nut like most people here. I can talk about them forever, read magazines, etc... However, I have very little experience with a wrench in my hand. Done plenty of oil changes, but that's about it. I feel like I have a very good understanding of cars, but just never got my hands dirty much. My mechanic is probably going to put his daughter through college thanks to me.

It's about time I can do more than just bench talk about cars. Not to mention with 3 little kids at home, the budget for paying a mechanic has gotten quite small.

I just picked up my '87 Corolla FX16 GTS for HPDE. It's a former SCCA ITB car, so it's all set to go play. I want to learn to do the basics on it myself. What guide book would you recommend for a newbie who wants to get his hands dirty? Chilton?

Grtechguy
Grtechguy SuperDork
7/27/10 11:54 a.m.

google and GRM

mndsm
mndsm Dork
7/27/10 11:58 a.m.

Chilton, Haynes, the internet... and see if you can get a Factory Service manual for one of those. I've learned that a LOT of the older ones have a habit of showing up in PDF format on the internet, so it shouldn't cost you a pile, or anything, to get one.

Raze
Raze HalfDork
7/27/10 12:03 p.m.

The best guide is a wrench + time + a car you can disassemble / reassemble without relying on it for transportation. Think of a project car as a cadavre, the more time you spend doing various procedures, the easier working on any vehicle will become...

but yeah, for general procedural knowledge grab chilton or haynes, factory service manuals are really nice but can be $$$ if you can even find them, unless someone's eBaying them on CD, got the FSM + Electrical diagrams for our XR4Ti off there for $8 shipped, it's worth many, many times that...

stuart in mn
stuart in mn SuperDork
7/27/10 12:09 p.m.