Jnntrp865
Jnntrp865
8/19/21 12:24 p.m.

I started tracking my car and will need to replace the brake pads soon.  I am a novice and do not come close to the car's limits but hope to change that soon.  I was using the OEM pad and never experienced any fade.  I am really slow.  

The car is a momentum car, around 240 hp and 3000 lbs. including driver.  The track days are 3-4 20 minute sessions.  The car will be used mostly for track and the occasional weekend drive, but need to drive 40-200 miles to the track.

My preference would be to use one pad.  Not much room in the car for a floor jack.  I'm also really lazy.

Given my skill level and needs, is it okay to stick with the OEM or similar?  Or should I go with a dual use pad like Hawk HP+ or EBC Yellow Stuff?  A full track pad feels like overkill and a poor match for my current talent level.

ShinnyGroove (Forum Supporter)
ShinnyGroove (Forum Supporter) HalfDork
8/19/21 1:08 p.m.

Unless you plan to swap pads back and forth for track days, I think you'll be fine with any of the "Sport" type pads like Hawk HP+ or Stoptech Sport.  Full track pads like DTC's or GLOC G-8 will be noisy and miserable on the street, and you aren't driving at the level where you need them yet.

adam525i
adam525i Dork
8/19/21 1:34 p.m.