sporqster
sporqster New Reader
12/8/11 10:32 p.m.

I'm a GRM Challenge noob planning my 2012 Challenge budget and was curious as to why I am disallowed from welding in the cage. I am planning on taking this car to a Chumpcar and LeMons events prior to the Challenge, but would like a shot at competing in the open class, not just the crapcan class, but kinda feel like I should weld the cage in for doing battle with the Chumpcar and LeMon's yahoos.

Is a bolt-in cage considered "safety equipment" and not included in the budget? Whereas the welded cage must be accounted for?

I gathered that 'safety equipment' is not included in the challenge budget, and that includes window nets, harnesses, extinguishers, anything on my person, firesuit, helmet, Hans, etc.

What about a racing seat? How about a 'wink' mirror? Fuel cell? Kill switch? Removable wheel? Pitt Coms? Wired transponder?

Do I have to budget fluids and fuel?

Oh yeah, one other thing, when will the 2012 Challenge take place?

Sorry about all the rapid fire questions, I've just already got the car, and I'm anxious to start cutting and welding on it.

aussiesmg
aussiesmg SuperDork
12/8/11 10:53 p.m.

First thing to remember this event is for the purpose of the magazine gaining cars for coverage.

Rules are the cage is not in the budget if bolted in, but is if it is welded in, this is to stay away from the tube frame chassis that could lead from a fully welded chassis.

Fluids are exempt.

Otherwise anything on the car when it runs is included in the budget with the exemption of certain items specifically excluded as safety items such as stock brake part replacements, roll age as noted, sfi bell housings and a few more.

Event is normally in October

aussiesmg
aussiesmg SuperDork
12/8/11 10:56 p.m.

My regular computer is struck down and I am on my Galaxy which limits my ability to find pages and link them but the 2011 rules should be easy to find with a look around

SVreX
SVreX SuperDork
12/9/11 6:25 a.m.