tb
tb HalfDork
4/10/14 12:59 p.m.

Long story short... I have made some changes on my challenge e30 and I need some help getting the alignment back in order. I cannot take it to a shop and stay within budget. Even though I used to be able to do a decent job myself, health issues are slowing me down.

Is there anyone somewhat close to Philly that can lend a hand? I know I need to verify (maybe modify) front camber, properly align the steering wheel and check/set toe. It really shouldn't be too hard, but after spinal cord surgery a few months ago it is something I would really rather not do myself. Also, I am far from a suspension expert so I could probably learn something from a better wrench than I.

I could probably chip away at it slowly, but I really want to get out to the Solo National Tour event in NJ the first weekend of May... Maybe someone can let me piggyback onto a work weekend and I can lend as much help as possible with your project? Only about three weeks left for prep.

I do not usually reach out for help like this, but I am learning to live with my limitations and such. Thank you very much!

tb
tb HalfDork
4/11/14 11:09 a.m.

Wow! I just noticed that with this ^ post I am officially up to HalfDork status! Only in the Mag a half a dozen times and already catching up to you all online...

The weather is too nice to play on the computer though, I am gonna go actually work on my car!

turboswede
turboswede UltimaDork
4/11/14 11:25 a.m.

Not hard to do with a flat surface, some string, a good ruler, an angle gauge (or the Camber app for your smart phone) and a set of jack stands.

This should help:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjZUu_d08t8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZoL1gaWedA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJmRXlisnZ0

Basically, measure the track front and rear (if there is a difference in track width, you'll want to know to keep the string parallel).