1 2
Warren v
Warren v New Reader
1/18/13 7:44 p.m.

So I've been playing around with Xbox Kinects and all sorts of 3D scanning software. It's surprisingly accurate. It's not a FARO arm or NextEngine laser scanner, but I'm consistently measuring errors smaller than 1/8" over 36".

The next step is of course powertrains and engine bays. I think this is an incredible tool for visualization and project planning. If no one has done it yet, I'd love to start a website where people can freely share their 3D scans of cars and parts.

Click for video: The ugly beat up dull Exocet bodywork in the background of the video is our mockup set, our production bodywork doesn't look like that!

All you need is a Kinect and a computer. The easier software I've been using is ReconstructMe Console. There's a 3mx3mx3m setup that you can tweak. http://reconstructme.net/

Meshlab will let you open and clean up the files. I'm still learning how to use it and transfer cleaned up point clouds into SolidWorks. http://meshlab.sourceforge.net/

Slippery
Slippery New Reader
1/18/13 8:35 p.m.

That is amazing! What kind of file format does it save it as?

J

Warren v
Warren v New Reader
1/18/13 8:39 p.m.

ReconstructMe poops the data out in .ply format. Meshlab will take that and export a file compatible with just about any 3D modeling software. I use .stl the most.

jhaas
jhaas HalfDork
1/18/13 8:46 p.m.

DUDE, you are a genius.

buy a domain name quick!

slopecarver
slopecarver New Reader
1/18/13 8:58 p.m.

catch 123d from autodesk does the same thing, no kinect camera, just a normal camera.

Warren v
Warren v New Reader
1/18/13 9:10 p.m.

In reply to slopecarver:

Catch123d does, do something similar, but the Kinect's well-documented stereovision leads to much better dimensional accuracy. The AutoDesk method doesn't account for absolute scaling, either. Catch123d is good for making artwork, whereas the Kinect methods can be used to measure and design.