1 2
ssanto
ssanto New Reader
11/11/19 7:20 p.m.

Trying to get my NASCAR road race car to the track early next year.  I've got the engine build going and now I need to figure out the transmission.  I've got a GM world class T5 transmission in my attic that I was considering but I'm have doubts about it handling the power.

Jericho and any other $2k+ options are out of my price range.  I've been looking into Muncie and T-10 four speed transmissions, but I'm new to that game and could use some suggestions.

Any thoughts?  Hopefully something I can pick up used that won't blow up :)

maj75
maj75 HalfDork
11/11/19 7:41 p.m.

You are going to pay $1000 for a used bellhousing and either a Muncie or T-10.  The prices are crazy because of the restoration value.  You might find a CL bargain, but if it’s no good, you may not know it until it’s installed.  I’ve gotten lucky with a Muncie, but I still paid $750 off CL and still needed to source a bellhousing, flywheel, pressure plate and clutch.  It adds up fast for reliability at that power level.  You should also index the bellhousing.

Daylan C
Daylan C PowerDork
11/11/19 7:50 p.m.

LT1 era T56? 

MrChaos
MrChaos SuperDork
11/11/19 7:58 p.m.
Daylan C said:

LT1 era T56? 

prices are going up because to make it an LS t56 all you need is a front plate, bell housing and a input shaft

dropstep
dropstep UltraDork
11/11/19 7:58 p.m.

My boss recently turned down 1200 for his Muncie, they are way up from what I can tell. Lt1 era t56 or building the t5 seem to be the cheapest options 

Daylan C
Daylan C PowerDork
11/11/19 7:59 p.m.

In reply to MrChaos :

As somebody that's going to need an LS t56 eventually, thanks.

ssanto
ssanto New Reader
11/11/19 9:06 p.m.

I see a lot of threads on the internet about how much power a transmission can take, but I think most of those are from the perspective of a drag strip where you are shocking the driveline dumping the clutch at 5000 RPM with drag slicks.