1 2
jwdmotorsports
jwdmotorsports HalfDork
10/16/09 6:53 a.m.

So, this years challenge car was rattle can paint and looked like rattle can paint. Part of that was that I didn't spent a lot of time on it and didn't do any between coat sanding or anything like that. I was mainly trying to do a QUICK paint job. Also, this was the first time I've ever painted an entire car. It was definately a learning experience.

So, for future projects I'd like a little bit better paint job. I have a spray gun but only own a pancake air compressor.

Here are my questions. How big of an air compressor do I need to spray a car? How many coats of primer, paint, and clear should I expect to spray and about what does that equal in amount of paint I need to buy (think something the size of a Civic)? I would also like some tips on wet sanding since I've never done it before.

JThw8
JThw8 SuperDork
10/16/09 7:58 a.m.

Compressor will be decided by your spray gun. Your gun has a CFM requirement and your compressor should be at or above that.

I've been able to spray small cars with a small portable 20gal compressor that was underrated for my gun, it can be done but you have to plan carefully.

jwdmotorsports
jwdmotorsports HalfDork
10/16/09 8:38 a.m.

Am I right in thinking that you could use a smaller compressor, you would just have to keep stopping while the tank fills?

mad_machine
mad_machine SuperDork
10/16/09 8:45 a.m.

some of the newer HVLP guns do not need a lot of volume. I picked up an upright 30gal compressor for only $60 from a contractor going out of business.

NOHOME
NOHOME Reader
10/16/09 8:58 a.m.

If your compressor is a bit too small, then you need to compensate with air storage; what size is the tank? I would not try to paint with a tankless compressor.

If you have an air storage tank, you can paint until it gets low. Then you wait for the thing to fill and repeat. It can get the job done.