nderwater
nderwater UltimaDork
7/23/20 2:13 p.m.

While out playing with sidewalk chalk in my driveway this morning, my 2 and 4 year old kids scratched the living crap out of the black paint on my Boxster.  Every single body panel has scratches on it--some light and small, others large and deep.  Even from ten feet away it looks like a crazy ex-girlfriend keyed my car.  

Fury aside, now I've got to decide what to do next. Some of the smaller scratches can be buffed out, but there are scratches down to the primer all over the car.  I have zero experience with pait and body work, but I'm interested in attempting a DIY solution.  If you were in my place, would you try to repair the paint yourself? Wrap the car? Plastidip it?  Something else?

hybridmomentspass
hybridmomentspass New Reader
7/23/20 2:16 p.m.

Adoption?

cmcgregor (Forum Supporter)
cmcgregor (Forum Supporter) SuperDork
7/23/20 2:17 p.m.

Oof. That sucks.

How much are you willing to put into this project? I'd be tempted to give wrapping it myself a shot, given my recent experience with DIY touchup paint. 

Patrick (Forum Supporter)
Patrick (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
7/23/20 2:18 p.m.

Insurance is kinda made for this.  If you want to wrap you still need to fill the scratches or they'll show through 

nderwater
nderwater UltimaDork
7/23/20 2:20 p.m.
cmcgregor (Forum Supporter) said:

How much are you willing to put into this project? 

Think Maaco money, not repair at the Porsche dealer.

84FSP
84FSP UltraDork
7/23/20 2:29 p.m.

Home owners insurance will cover this - you can run your math vs making a claim on your insurance - give them a ring.

Robbie (Forum Supporter)
Robbie (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
7/23/20 2:39 p.m.

Oh man, that's a bummer. What's the boxster worth? It might make a difference in how you end up trying to get it fixed.