bigdaddylee82
bigdaddylee82 UberDork
7/27/20 10:59 a.m.

The nephew is 16, just got his license, and has his late grandfather's '79 Plymouth Arrow.

The most important thing in any 16 year old's ride, is tunes of course.  Unfortunately the Arrow only has an AM radio.  However, the kid's grandfather had installed an FM converter at some point. 

Now this is all second hand info, from a 16 year old with his first car, but apparently the FM converter doesn't work.  Since I'm into cars and play "tech support," for the whole family, I must know how to fix it...

Unfortunately I have zero experience with AM to FM convertors or any of Chrysler's "captive import" little trucks of yore.

Going into it blind, my knee jerk reaction is to put a modern head unit in it, you'll get FM & AM, maybe even HD, XM, Bluetooth, Aux-in, USB, LMNOP, BBQ, HDMI, QWERTY, etc.  What teen wouldn't be all over that?  I'll tell you... this one.  Surprised me, but I think the sentimentality of it being grandpa's truck is strong, and the kid wants to keep it stock looking.

So what are my options of getting the kid's AM radio to play FM stations?  Even if I figure out how to make the existing FM converter work, it's likely ~40 years old, surely there's been some technological advancements in the past 4 decades.

My alternate idea, I haven't pitched this one to the nephew yet, so it may be a non-starter, but looking on eBay, it appears that I can get a factory Mighty Max or D50 AM/FM radio.  My ASSumption is that it'll be a direct swap in the Arrow, anyone able to confirm my assumption? 

SEADave
SEADave Dork
7/27/20 11:07 a.m.

Keep the original stereo, put a modern stereo in an under dash pod like this?  Would be a good use for one of those sub $20 Blaupunkts from the other thread.  

ebelements
ebelements Reader
7/27/20 11:35 a.m.

Any pictures of the dash? I'd be against cutting anything up as I can't even find a picture of what it might look like.