1 2 3
golfduke
golfduke Dork
4/18/22 10:44 a.m.

So a long time ago I bought a cheap 4.8L off of a friend/forum member, and it's been sitting around waiting for a donor car that I found.  I have since found a pretty straight E46 wagon that I intend to drop it in over either this or next winter. 

I have some knowledge of the LS-series engines, and know that the block is the same as the 5.3, but the internet is a great and terrible place, and there's just SO.MUCH.INFORMATION, that it's hard to decide what to do.  Enter GRM.  

What I want is reliable power  (300-400whp) without needing to sell a kidney, basically.  I am not interested in turbo, just because an E46 engine bay is already cramped. So that would mean cams, heads, intake, and upgraded valvetrain/timing chain.  But there's just so many parts/options/iterations available that I'm unsure of direct compatibility without purchasing a 4.8l specific "kit" for $3000.  

I already have access and base level knowledge of HP Tuners, so that's what I'll be using for the base tune, and will likely have a pro dial it in beyond that. 

So basically any guidance would be appreciated, so I can start accumulating parts and building the engine up as I have time.  The engine is disassembled and stored currently, so now would be the time! 

Gearheadotaku (Forum Supporter)
Gearheadotaku (Forum Supporter) UltimaDork
4/18/22 12:21 p.m.

Shouldn't be hard to do, 295hp was stock in some of the later versions.

Cam, better flowing heads, intake manifold, and a tune should do it. Note it will be a rev'er not a torque'r.  

I always wanted to build one like this, 400hp and rev to 7500. Sort of a modern DZ302.

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner MegaDork
4/18/22 12:29 p.m.

Instead of trying to build the 4.8 for 400 hp, sell it to someone who's read too many Hot Rod articles about 1000 hp turbo builds and just buy an LS3. Same size, same weight, 430 hp in bone stock form.