thedoc
thedoc New Reader
4/15/19 3:21 p.m.

I have a 91 mustang that I just picked up.  I cannot get the turn signals to work.  I have established that there is no power at the fuse itself.  The flashers do work.  I only have a harbor freight multimeter.  What tools do I need to diagnose electrical problems and is there a  decent website that would teach me?  I am a decent basic mechanic but have always left electrical problems to the professionals.

I did put on the blower on my 06 mustang, but the installation manual was excellent, so I give that most of the credit.  I'm sick of not understanding this stuff and want to figure it out.  My wife is pushing me to take the car into the garage, I just want to figure it out myself.

I'm not sure which flag I'm waving, but I'm waving one!

Stampie
Stampie PowerDork
4/15/19 3:23 p.m.

Is the fuse good?  I do a diode test (the beepy thing on the meter) to make sure. How did you test power to the fuse?

thedoc
thedoc New Reader
4/15/19 3:54 p.m.

I just put the multimeter probes in.  I did not think about the beepy thing.  The car has aftermarket fast and furious headlight assemblies, but the wiring and ground to that look good.  

SEADave
SEADave HalfDork
4/15/19 4:08 p.m.

The big multi-function stalk on foxbodies is a known problem area.  I had to replace the one on my 1990 as the headlights would only work intermittently.   Not a cheap part, you may get lucky at the local pic n pull.   

thedoc
thedoc New Reader
4/15/19 5:06 p.m.

I put a new stalk into the car.  It did not change the problem AND if you pushed it up, the wipers wiped and the washer would squirt!  The old one is going back in!  It worked fine before, just did not work the turn signals.

Run_Away
Run_Away Dork
4/15/19 5:10 p.m.

You need a wiring diagram so you can check where that fuse receives it's power from.

bentwrench
bentwrench SuperDork
4/15/19 5:20 p.m.

Run Away has the answer.

dj06482
dj06482 UltraDork
4/15/19 7:14 p.m.