deveous9
deveous9 New Reader
9/17/09 12:04 p.m.

I drive a 1981 Toyota Corolla TE72 3tc 4 speed manual transmission, and I think its a T40 transmission. So I am driving home from the store with my wife and as I am shifting through the gears I notice that every time I shift into 3rd, I hear a loud crunch sound. I only hear the noise when shifting into 3rd gear and I only hear it once. Its not a constant sound, but still, I hear it and I swear its getting louder every time. I know I am not the worlds greatest mechanic but I know when its time to pull out the work gloves. My question is, How difficult is it to rebuild a Toyota manual transmission? I consider myself to be a mechanically able person but I have never done this before. I have done engine/transmissions swaps in the past and it was fairly easy but this is a whole new thing for me.

Any Help Is Much Appreciated

This is a picture of when I dropped the trans for the clutch install. Don't know if pictures helps identify trans type for more accurate help.

t40 transmission

Rusty_Rabbit84
Rusty_Rabbit84 Dork
9/17/09 12:10 p.m.

its about as confusing as a Formula 1 steering wheel...

deveous9
deveous9 New Reader
9/17/09 12:31 p.m.

Wow, that looks complicated!

Dr. Hess
Dr. Hess SuperDork
9/17/09 12:58 p.m.

I think you'd be a lot better off just finding a used one on car-part.com. But, if you want to tackle it, there's a book written by someone here on the board that covers how to rebuild your manual transmission. I bought a copy.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0760320470/ref=ox_ya_oh_product

Jensenman
Jensenman SuperDork
9/17/09 4:19 p.m.

You'll be back on the road quicker with a used box. But here's the even better thing about that: you will have the original tranny to disassemble/reassemble and learn on at your leisure. That will serve you well in the years to come.

Brust
Brust Reader
9/17/09 6:24 p.m.