1 2 3
David S. Wallens
David S. Wallens Editorial Director
6/22/21 11:50 a.m.
feature_image

What are you paying these days to get a set of tires mounted and balanced? Or are you doing it at home? For those doing it at home, is it worth it? 

Read the rest of the story

moxnix
moxnix Dork
6/22/21 12:02 p.m.

Doing it at home.   Yes it is worth it.

NickD
NickD MegaDork
6/22/21 12:03 p.m.

I pay $Free.99, but I have an unfair advantage, because I'm a mechanic and can use my shop's tire machine.

APEowner
APEowner SuperDork
6/22/21 12:06 p.m.

It depends on where I buy my tires.  If I get them through the local Discount Tire then they're mounted for free.  If I buy used or from tire rack then I pay $20.00/tire.

I've thought about getting my own equipment but so far I haven't thought it was worth it.  I don't have a lot of shop space, even at $20/tire you can mount and ballance a lot of tires before you cover the cost of the equipment and I really don't enjoy mounting and balancing tires.

dps214
dps214 Dork
6/22/21 12:11 p.m.

DIY, using work's equipment. The downside is the stuff is at a second location that I almost never work at and is out in the middle of nowhere. So my cost is ~$10 of fuel and 1.5hrs of my time to drive there and back. Still generally worth it but it's annoying; I will occasionally pay to get a set mounted locally if I'm in a hurry and don't have a day to burn on it. If I had space at home and a better compressor I'd be at least seriously considering buying my own equipment.

Toyman01 + Sized and
Toyman01 + Sized and MegaDork
6/22/21 12:14 p.m.

Doing it at home. Definitely worth it. 

Slippery
Slippery UberDork
6/22/21 12:16 p.m.

$60 for 4 and I give the guy a $20 tip, so $80 total. 

Floating Doc (Forum Supporter)
Floating Doc (Forum Supporter) PowerDork
6/22/21 12:18 p.m.

My most recent order from Tire Rack cost me $120 for mounting. That didn't include disposal, I kept the old tires.